The Next Big Thing: Roisin Peddle

Thank you Marie O’Halloran for tagging me in the Next Big Thing. This rolling blog is a way for writers to promote their work. If you want to find out more about my writing, follow me on Twitter @randomdescent

 

 

(via Wikimedia Commons)

(via Wikimedia Commons)

What is my Next Big Thing?

The next big thing for me is to finish my novel. It’s the first time I’ve ever written something out of sequence- a chapter here, a chapter there- and it’s actually working!

What is the working title of your book?

I am so bad with names. I hope something will inspire me before long!

Where did the idea come from for the book?

About two years ago, there was a big freeze in Ireland and the country couldn’t cope with the snow and ice. It was quite eerie and weird, the place looked like somewhere in Scandinavia! I kind of thought about things that could be hidden by the snow, and the lack of outside activity (people hardly left the house!) and of course, it came around to a dead body. It usually does with me….

What genre does your book fall under?

It sounds like crime but the investigation is not the main focus of the story. The story is really about Grace, the girl who finds the body. She and her family get plunged into a nightmare- they are wrongly accused of having something to do with it. So probably a kind of psychological novel.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I think Grace looks like Jennifer Lawrence in my head. She’s a great actress. The killer… Hmmm. Have we ever seen Liam Neeson play a bad guy? Wouldn’t that be interesting? Grace gets a bit of a love interest in the end, so I might go for Andrew Garfield there. I could always consult with him on the finer points of the script.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Grace finds a body and all her troubles begin.

How long did it take to write the 1st draft of your manuscript?

It’s taking too long! I started it last summer, left it til November. I now write with other writers (shout-out to Mary Bradford, Daniel Kaye and Marie O’Halloran) and that has really motivated me. I hope I finish it by the end of the summer.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

It was just a random thought that popped in my head one day.

What else about your book might pique the readers’ interest?

It’s set mostly in Galway, where I spent a year in college. It’s my favourite place in Ireland and I hope my description does the place justice.

When and how will it be published?

That is the million dollar question. I’m very new to this and have just started to take writing seriously. While I have always written, it is only in the last year I am determined to make something of it now, rather than in twenty years. I would love, love, love to get it published in some form. Somewhere. Someday. 🙂

This is a brilliant idea and thanks to Marie O’Halloran for tagging me. Her blog is a brilliant one to check out, as is Mary Bradford’s and Daniel Kaye’s, and Jillian Godsil’s.

Onto more writers for the Next Big Thing of February 6 2013.

Leave a Reply

