30 Day Reading Challenge

A shout-out to I Shall Be A Toad whose own 30 Day Challenge inspired me to follow suit. And because I’m impatient, I’m doing it all in one go. 

Via I Shall Be A Toad

Via I Shall Be A Toad

Day 1: The best book you read this year: Water For Elephants, Sara Gruen.

Day 2: A book you’ve read more than 3 times: Alice In Wonderland and Alice Through The Looking Glass, Lewis Carroll (try 300 times)

Day 3: Your favourite series: Harry Potter, JK Rowling

Day 4: Favourite book of your favourite series: Toss-up between Prisoner of Azkaban, Half-Blood Prince or Goblet of Fire

Day 5: A book that makes you happy: The Last Continent, Terry Pratchett. For the fact that meat pie floaters really exist and the bickering of the wizards.

Day 6: A book that makes you sad: The Road, Cormac McCarthy. Such a bleak book.

Day 7: Most underrated book: Watching Pointless one day, it upset me that hardly anyone knew that Marvin The Paranoid Android was in The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams. Everyone should know that and everyone should read this book!

Day 8: Most overrated book: The Time-Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffeneger. I gave up, I’m sorry. I found their relationship way too creepy. 

Day 9: Favorite classic book: Toss-up between The Great Gatsby (F Scott Fitzgerald) or Jane Eyre (Charlotte Brontë).

Day 10: A book you didn’t think you’d like but ended up loving: Going back in time now, but my mother gave me The Flight of The Doves by Walter Macken. Didn’t think I’d like it at all, of course it’s a wonderful story and a beautiful book.

Day 11: A book you hatedFifty Shades of Grey (EL James)  for the poor writing, pathetic heroine and creepy hero. Twilight (Stephenie Meyer) for the exact same reasons.

Day 12: A book you used to love but don’t anymore: Made the mistake of re-reading The Catcher in the Rye (JD Salinger) when I hit my 20s. Holden’s a bit of an ass isn’t he?

Day 13: Your favourite writer: Technically, Louis de Bernieres, who stays (most of the time) on the right side of overdone.

Day 14: Book from your favourite writer: Captain Corelli’s Mandolin. Natch.

Day 15: Favourite male character: Jonathan Strange, Jonathan Strange and Mr NorrellSusanna Clarke

Day 16: Favourite female character: Jane Eyre, or as she’s been mentioned elsewhere, Cassandra from Dodie Smith’s I Capture The Castle

Day 17: Favourite quote: “What came first, the music or the misery? People worry about kids playing with guns, or watching violent videos, that some sort of culture of violence will take them over. Nobody worries about kids listening to thousands, literally thousands of songs about heartbreak, rejection, pain, misery and loss. Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?”- Rob, High FidelityNick Hornby. Always stuck with me and explained so much of my teen years!

Day 18: First chapter book you can remember reading as a child: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbitby Judith Kerr.

Day 19: Favorite book turned into a movie: The Princess Bride, William Goldman. Both book and movie are hilarious!

Day 20: Book that makes you laugh out loud: Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett.

Day 21: Favorite book from your childhood: Charlie and The Chocolate FactoryRoald Dahl

Day 22: Book you’re currently reading: Byron EasyJude Cook

Day 23: Your guilty pleasure: Children’s books.

Day 24: A book that you wish more people would’ve read: I wish people had read Northern Lights instead of seeing that awful film they made of it.

Day 25: Favourite book you read in school: Wasn’t crazy about many of the books I read in secondary school, but loved Good Morning Midnight and Wide Sargasso Sea, both by Jean Rhys, which I had to read for college.

Day 26: A book that changed your opinion about somethingAn Education by Lynn Barber changed my outlook on writing, especially non-fiction. She wrote about this pretty nasty experience she’d had in such an amazing, frank, yet entertaining way. Not only that, she never let it dominate her life, and in the end it only merits one or so chapters in a pretty short book. I had never been one for memoir in any shape or form but that book really shattered my preconceptions and was very inspiring from a writing point of view.

Day 27: The most surprising plot twist or ending: One Day by David Nicholls. Really didn’t see that one coming.

Day 28: Favourite Title: The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake (Aimee Bender) was one I heard lately. Gotta read the book now. 

Day 29: A book everyone hated but you liked: I thought The Order of The Phoenix wasn’t that bad… It needed editing, Sirius’ death still makes no sense and it’s probably the least eventful of the whole Harry Potter series, but there was the introduction one of my most love-to-hate characters, Dolores Umbridge, as well as Fred and George’s delicious goodbye to Hogwarts.

Day 30: Favourite book: Ah, here. Just because I haven’t mentioned him so far (I don’t think) I’ll say Neil Gaiman, American Gods. Just one of my favourites though.

What are your own 30?

8 thoughts on “30 Day Reading Challenge

  1. Aaah have so much to say!
    Suffice to say I love most (yeah you heard me, MOST!) of your choices! Haven’t read three or four of ’em….
    must get them off you 😀
    Have you got An Education? It sounds most intriguing!

  2. You’ve read Alice In Wonderland and Alice Through The Looking Glass 300 times?? Wow! That’s amazing!
    As for the Harry Potter books you chose, I can’t choose either between the three. They are all so good. And I didn’t think Order of the Phoenix was bad, either. Like you said, Umbridge made the book — I relished loathing her.
    I watched the movie version of One Day and loved it. It’s currently on my shelf waiting to be read, which I will this summer. The movie pulled a fast one on me and I’m not looking forward to that feeling again when I read it.
    Yesterday I came across The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake on a blog and fell in love with the title. I don’t know much about the plot, but I know I need to read it.

    • Well, I’m probably exaggerating with Alice, but my mother read it to me when I was very small, probably around 3 or 4, and as soon as I was old enough to read it I’ve reread it tons of times!
      We’ll have to both report back on Lemon Cake, I hope it’s good!
      Have never seen the film of One Day, but it really does almost feel like you’ve been cheated. I had to put down the book for a day or so to get over the shock! Have you read Starter for Ten? It’s great! 🙂

  3. I haven’t read the vast majority of these, so I’m going to have to do some adding to my to-read list! . . . . I did just pick up “Good Omens” yesterday though 🙂 . . . Also, I feel kind of ashamed to admit this, but I never knew “The Princess Bride” was a book! I’ll definitely have to read that one!

    • Hi Dayle! Oh you’ll love Good Omens, it’s fantastic! 😀 Enjoy it. The Princess Bride is almost exactly the same as the film, so there’s no shame 🙂

Leave a Reply

