#WritePopFiction Exercise 1

Writing Prompt one of today’s Writing Popular Fiction online workshop.

Write! (via Wikimedia Commons)

Write! (via Wikimedia Commons)

Write a summary of one of your favourite novels: 

American Gods by Neil Gaiman.

A man gets out of prison and discovers everything he knows about the world and his life is a lie. Not only is God real, all the Gods that ever were are real. He takes a journey across America, led by the mysterious Mr Wednesday, in order to save the gods from obscurity and domination by the new gods of the 21st century.

Write a couple of sentences about a big event that happened to you in the last 12 months:

I graduated from college and got hit, full-slap in the face, with the recession. Since coming back to the family home last September, I only managed to secure any kind of employment in April. This was a huge shock to the system, but in one way, I started to take writing more seriously, and met like-minded people at home who have been a great encouragement to me.

A couple of sentences that you would like to happen in the next 12 months: 

I’m working again for the summer and hope to save enough to go teach TEFL in Asia. I’m scared, as I’ll probably be doing it alone, but excited too. This time next year, I’ll hope to have had some adventure and have changed my life for the better.

2 thoughts on “#WritePopFiction Exercise 1

    • Thanks Dawn! I’m kind of oscillating between terror and glee at the moment. When I book the flights it’ll hit me. Fair play to you for going out to Dubai on your own! 🙂

Leave a Reply

