Just Because: A Collection of Short Stories is out now!

L-R Roisin Peddle (me) Micheal O'Flaherty, Mary Bradford, Marie O'Halloran, Daniel Kaye and Mary Angland (image by Tracey Kearney)

L-R Roisin Peddle (me) Micheal O’Flaherty, Mary Bradford, Marie O’Halloran, Daniel Kaye and Mary Angland (image by Tracey Kearney)

Earlier this year, I was honoured to be longlisted in the prestigious RTE Guide/Penguin Ireland short story competition.

Seeing as I have only been writing seriously for a year (and un-seriously for a lot longer than that, as my multitude of childhood notebooks will attest) I was thrilled. Quickly I hopped on the phone to let my writing pals know, only to hear that four- Mary Bradford, Marie O’Halloran, Mary Angland and Micheal O’Flaherty- of them too had been longlisted, and in Micheal O’Flaherty’s case, shortlisted.

We traipsed up to Dublin and  met the lovely Sinead Moriarty, as well as hearing words of wisdom from Penguin editors, writers including Niamh Boyce and Mary Grehan. It was around then- September- that the idea of an anthology was born. We asked another member of our little circle, Daniel Kaye, to contribute too. Despite time being against us, we have managed to produce a rather beautiful book in time for the Christmas market.

I am so proud of our work and the book, which is now available on Amazon, as both an e-book and in print. It’s also available in a number of shops in North Cork and Limerick county, including Dick’s in Charleville, Lee’s Centra (Charleville) Phillips’ (Mallow) Eason (Mallow) outlets in Newcastlewest. I also have a limited number with me. Contact me through the Facebook page to pick up a copy.

Last Friday we had our official launch in Charleville Library, officiated by local author Dan Binchy. It was a great night and we all felt a bit overcome with all the love and support winging our way.

Do pick up a copy of Just Because. I may be biased but I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

